Ticket #295 (new Usability)
Opened 5 years ago
Move deleted messages to a "Trash" folder
|Reported by:||sarah132||Owned by:||Cyrus Daboo|
|Severity:||Serious||Keywords:||Deleted Messages, Trash|
When deleting a message (locally or not), move it to a "trash" folder.
The trash folder should be locally defined for non-IMAP accounts, to serve local and POP3 accounts. The message should be removed from its original directory, permanently.
In the trash folder, it should be available to "move" to another folder, opened, and every other option available on a read message.
If the option to "expunge on close" is selected, then the "trash" will be emptied on close. Otherwise, a warning can be issued on a certain size or number which the trashed messages occupy.
This is highly important from a user interface (i.e. usability) point of view.
I am setting the severity and priority quite high, because this feature can make people turn away from this eMail client, as I am still considering. Although, it is a beautiful software and should have been much more popular.
I am used for years to Eudora (since 1996) and looking for a replacement after it was discontinued, and I desperately need the UTF-8 support.
However, this "feature" (of deleted messaged handling) is very disturbing.
I'll be happy to assist with the design of this feature when it comes to be.